Exotic New Orleans wedding chapel & wedding reception: Venusian Garden chapel & neon art installation, French Quarter wedding package
French Quarter New Orleans LA wedding reception
luminous wedding chapel




Venusian Gardens

"the most unique venue in New Orleans"

 

 

wedding license information







License Requirements

Getting married in New Orleans is not complex. We are happy to provide you with the information needed to make your day simple but legal. Below is a detailed outline of the information you need to know to get married in one of the world's most romantic cities!

Application for license may be made by either party to the contract, only one of the parties must be present. Licenses are issued in the Louisiana State Office Building, Room 101, 325 Loyola Avenue, New Orleans, between 8:00 a.m. and 4:00 p.m., Monday through Friday. Licenses are valid in any parish in the
State of Louisiana.

GENERAL INFORMATION:
To apply for a marriage license, at least one party must appear in person. Whoever applies must have all the necessary information and documents.
Louisiana marriage licenses are valid in any parish in the state for 30 days.
For Louisiana residents there is a 72-hour waiting period between the time of issuance of the license and the ceremony. The waiting period may be waived by a judge.
FOR DESTINATION WEDDINGS: Nonresidents of Louisiana are exempt from the 72-hour waiting period, but the exemption is only valid for wedding ceremonies that take place within the city of New Orleans.
------------------------------------------------------------------------
DOCUMENTS REQUIRED:
1. Proper identification is required though a driver's license is usually adequate. State law requires that a certified copy of each party's birth certificate or birth card be presented. (this requirement may be waived by judges of the Orleans Parish City Court, a family court judge, or any district court judge of a parish for those born outside of Louisiana). The certified copies of birth certificates shall be issued by the registration authority of the city, county, state or registration area. The raised seal or stamp of the agency or authority issuing the certificate must be affixed thereto. If either party is from out-of-state, the birth certificate requirement for that party may be waived by a judge.
2. If either party has been divorced, a certified copy of the final divorce decree must be presented.
3. A certified copy of a death certificate must be presented if either party has been widowed.
4. Both parties must know their Social Security numbers, but no documentation is required.
A medical certificate is not required (no blood test).
------------------------------------------------------------------------
AGE REQUIREMENTS:
Marriage between persons under 18 years of age is prohibited by state law, except as follows:
1. Applicants more than 16 years of age, but less than 18, will need the signed consent of both parents or an order from a judge.
2. Females less than 16 years of age will be issued a license only upon the written order of a judge.


FEES:
Price of License: $27.50 payable to the State of Louisiana.


Venusian Gardens

2601 Chartres Street
New Orleans, La 70117

(504) 943-7446
gallery@VenusianGardens.com

fax: (504) 948-3113





 

home page